Citizenship guide

The Burnaby Public Library citizenship guide is designed to help newcomers learn about Burnaby, about BC and about Canada, and assist those preparing for the Canadian citizenship test.

General information about Canada

Motto of Canada

a mari usque ad mare ("from sea to sea")

Population (2016 census)

Canada: 35,151,728
British Columbia: 4,648,055
Vancouver (Census metropolitan area): 2,463,431
Burnaby: 232,755

Federal government information

Prime Minister

Justin Trudeau (Liberal)

Leader of Opposition

Andrew Scheer (Conservative)

Governor General of Canada

Julie Payette (2017)

Federal party leaders

Liberal Party of Canada: Justin Trudeau
New Democratic Party: Jagmeet Singh
Bloc Québécois: Yves-François Blanchet
Conservative Party of Canada: Andrew Scheer
Green Party of Canada: Elizabeth May
People's Party of Canada: Maxime Bernier

Last federal election

October 21, 2019


105 seats in senate with provision for an extra four or eight

House of Commons

338 members

Standings in the House of Commons

Conservative Party of Canada: 121
New Democratic Party: 24
Liberal Party of Canada: 157
Bloc Quebecois: 32
Green Party of Canada: 3

House of Commons seats by province/territory

British Columbia: 42
Alberta: 34
Saskatchewan: 14
Manitoba: 14
Ontario: 121
Quebec: 78
New Brunswick: 10
Nova Scotia: 11
Prince Edward Island: 4
Newfoundland and Labrador: 7
Yukon: 1
Northwest Territories: 1
Nunavut: 1

Address of Parliament Buildings

House of Commons
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

Federal members of Parliament (MPs) for Burnaby

Burnaby North Seymour

Terry Beech (Liberal)
Constituency office:
3906 Hastings Street
Burnaby, BC V5C 6C1
Phone: 604-718-8870

Burnaby South

Jagmeet Singh (NDP)
Constituency office:
4940 Kingsway
Burnaby BC V5H 2E2
Phone: 1 604 291-8863

New Westminster-Burnaby

Peter Julian (NDP)
Constituency office:
110-888 Carnarvon Street
New Westminster, BC V3M 0C6
Phone: 604-775-5707

Find your MP using your postal code.

Provincial premiers

British Columbia: John Horgan (NDP)
Alberta: Jason Kenney (PC)
Saskatchewan: Scott Moe (Saskatchewan Party)
Manitoba: Brian Pallister (PC)
Ontario: Doug Ford (PC)
Quebec: Francois Legault (Coalition Avenir Québec)

New Brunswick: Blaine Higgs (PC)
Nova Scotia: Stephen McNeil (Liberal)
Prince Edward Island: Dennis King (PC)
Newfoundland and Labrador: Dwight Ball (Liberal)
Yukon: Sandy Silver (Liberal Party)
Northwest Territories: Carolin Cochrane
Nunavut: Joe Savikataaq

Provincial government information

Premier of BC

John Horgan (NDP)

Leader of the Opposition

Andrew Wilkinson (LIB) 

Lieutenant governor of BC

Janet Austin

Provincial party leaders

British Columbia Liberal Party: Andrew Wilkinson
Britis Columbia New Democratic Party: John Horgan
British Columbia Green Party:Adam Olsen (interim)

Last BC election

May 9, 2017

BC Legislature

87 members

Standings of parties in the BC legislature

British Columbia Liberal Party: 42
BC NDP: 41
BC Green Party: 2

Total of 87 Ridings

Provincial members of legislative assembly (MLAs) for Burnaby

Burnaby North

Janet Routledge (NDP)
Constituency office:
1833 Willingdon Avenue
Burnaby, BC V5C 5R3
(604) 775-0778
Fax: (604) 775-0833

Burnaby Edmonds

Raj Chouhan (NDP)
Constituency office:
5234 Rumble Street
Burnaby, BC V5J 2B6
Phone: 604-660-7301
Fax: 604-660-7304

Burnaby-Deer Lake

Anne Kang (NDP)
Constituency office:
105 - 6411 Nelson Avenue
Burnaby, BC V7C 5R4
Phone: (604) 775-0565
Fax: (604) 775-2550


Katrina Chen (NDP)
Constituency office:
3 - 8699 10th Avenue
Burnaby, BC V3N 2S9
(604) 660-5058
Fax: (604) 660-5074

Find your MLA using your postal code.

Burnaby municipal information

Burnaby mayor

Mike Hurley, Independent 

Last election

October 20 2018

Full council including mayor elected every 4 years

Next election



Pietro Calendino (BCA)
Sav Dhaliwal (BCA)
Dan Johnston (BCA)
Colleen Jordan (BCA)
Joe Keithley, Burnaby Green Party
Paul McDonell (BCA)
Nick Volkow (BCA)
James Wang (BCA)

BCA = Burnaby Citizens Association

Voter qualifications


18 years old or older and a Canadian citizen

British Columbia

18 years old or older and a Canadian citizen


18 years old or older and a Canadian citizen. Must have resided in Canada for 12 months, BC for six months, and 30 days in Burnaby. All Burnaby property owners may vote if they are Canadian citizens and 18 years or older.