Upcoming events & programs

E.g., 2019-08-21
Friday, September 20
7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Spillious, the 2017 Grand Slam Champion of the Vancouver Poetry Slam, is a TransSpilliousfeminine poet from Vancouver.  Spillious will read selections from their work, share their experiences as a writer, and take questions from the audience.

On September 27, Spillious will return to the Metrotown Branch to provide a Poetry Workshop.  Through prompts and exercises, Spillious will help participants write poetry and share their own story.  This creative, interactive workshop will also share insights on how to perform poetry in engaging ways.  Register seperately for each program. 

Saturday, September 21, 2019
10:00 am to 1:00 pm

It's Science Literacy Week and we are exploring underwater themes with some of our new tech equipment at the library. Take Sphero on a swim or go on a virtual reality dive with Oculus Go. 

Ages 6 to adult. Drop in, no registration required.   

Saturday, September 21
10:30 am to 11:30 am

Jackie Kai Ellis', "Measure of My Powers" book cover

Join us for a librarian-led discussion about Jackie Kai Ellis' book Measure of My Powers: a memoir of food, misery and Paris. From the publisher: "For fans of Eat Pray Love, Wild, and H is for Hawk, The Measure of My Powers is the story of one woman's search for self-love, experienced through food and travel...Told with insight and intimacy, and radiating with warmth and humor, The Measure of My Powers is an inspiring memoir, and an unforgettable experience of the senses."

Registration for this program opens on August 21. Register in person at the Cameron Library or by calling 604-421-5454. Once registered, bring your library card on, or after, August 21 to pick up your copy of the book at the Cameron Library Information Desk. Participants are asked to complete the book in advance of the event.

Saturday, September 21
10:30 am to 11:15 am

Age: Newborn to 2 ½ years

Join us for lively songs, rhymes and stories for babies and toddlers and their dads, uncles, stepdads, foster dads, grandfathers and other male caregivers. No registration is required. 

For more information call: 604-436-5420

Saturdays, September 14 to October 26

Saturday, September 21
11:00 am to 11:45 am

For children of all ages and their caregivers. Join us for fun Saturday mornings full of stories, music, action and fun!

The first 15 minutes is set aside for families to settle in, look at books together, and meet other families.

No registration is required. Come early - space is limited. Caregivers must attend with children.

For more information, call 604-436-5420.

Saturdays, September 21 to November 9

 

Saturday, September 21
2:00 pm to 3:00 pm

Join Burnaby Public Library for a fun Science Literacy Week program led by Let's Talk Science SFU! This year's theme is Oceans. Registration required. Suitable for ages 5-10.

Adaptations help animals survive, and when animals live in different habitats, that means they need different adaptations. Throughout the workshop, students will learn about how marine animals have adapted to communicate, eat, and live in oceans, lakes, rivers, and wetlands. Explore different zones in the ocean and discover the animals that live there!

Let's Talk Science is a nationwide, non-profit science outreach organization, that provides fully funded hands-on science workshops to students K-12 and community groups. Let's Talk Science SFU is partnered with the SFU Faculty of Science, and is volunteer run by SFU undergraduate and graduate students.

Register online, call 604-436-5420 or visit any branch. Adults must attend the program with children younger than 10.

Saturday, September 21
2:00 pm to 3:30 pm

Explore a range of local history, heritage, and cultural topics. Community members are invited to bring their own stories, memories and questions to share. Presented in partnership by Burnaby Village Museum and Burnaby Public Library. Presentations are free, but space is limited.

Tour the grounds of the Fairacres Estate, constructed by Grace and Henry Ceperley on the shores of Deer Lake between 1909 and 1911. The tour will feature a peek inside some of the remaining estate buildings, including the Fairacres mansion that is now home to the Burnaby Art Gallery. Tour provided by City of Burnaby Heritage Planner, Lisa Codd. 

Meet at at the Burnaby Art Gallery, 6344 Deer Lake Avenue.

Register online, call 604-436-5400 or visit any branch.

Sunday, September 22
2:00 pm to 3:30 pm

Practice your English and meet people in a friendly, relaxed environment. Each week a librarian will lead a discussion on a variety of topics. Some knowledge of English is recommended. Free, no registration required.

 Sundays, September 8 – October 27 (We are closed Sunday, October 13th )

 For more information, call 604-522-3971 or visit any branch.

Monday, September 23
11:15 am to 11:45 am

Age: walkers to 2 ½ years

Join us for songs, rhymes and stories. Perfect for busy toddlers!

No registration required. Come early - space is limited. Caregivers must attend with children. Siblings welcome.

For more information, call 604-421-5454.

Mondays, September 9 to November 4
(No program on October 14 - library is closed for Thanksgiving)

Monday, September 23
6:30 pm to 8:30 pm

Join us for an evening of stargazing! Librarian and amateur astronomer, John Reid, will set up a telescope in Civic Square where you may see star clusters, double stars and other phemonoma.

We’ll start with an introduction on viewing the stars. If we can’t see the sky due to weather, there will be a presentation indoors on myths and legends about the night sky.

Open to all ages, dress warmly! Meet in the program room, first floor.

Limited to 20 spots. Register online, at any branch or call 604-436-5400.

Pages